Team Fortress: Soldier


When I first started out with the Soldier I didn’t enjoy it, I couldn’t get the rockets to hit anyone and I felt so slow. After a while and a little practise I came back to the Soldier and now the Soldier is one of my favourite classes. He is the second beefiest class and, just like every other class, has the potential to do massive damage. I’ve had some of my best matches with the Soldier, going on rampage and killing everyone I see.

Just like the Heavy, the Soldier is a great class to have a pocket medic with and to Übercharge. The Soldier has a wide range of launchers, some better than others in my opinion. My personal favourite at the moment is the Black Box. It generates 15 health for every hit you get on someone. The downside is that you get one less rocket. As long as you keep reloading you should be fine. Anyway, we’re not hear to talk about weapons, you can watch the Taking One for the Team Fortress 2 videos that I link in every Team Fortress 2 class post.

Lets get on to strategies. The soldier is an offensive class so it is great for rushing, creating and helping pushes and invading Engineer nests. What a Soldier isn’t so good at is capturing points. The rocket launchers explosive radius can be hazardous to your health and you can take a lot of unnecessary health. You could always take out your shotgun but sometimes that just isn’t good enough so try not to capture if you don’t have someone else that can help you out.

You are a slow class so you are very vulnerable to getting backstabbed by Spies. Turning around and firing a rocket can be a good way to take out a Spy quickly, it shouldn’t be too dangerous. Now on to something I am not very good at, rocket jumping. I can give an explanation but I couldn’t do it to save my life. The idea of rocket jumping is pretty self explanatory. Using your rocket to get your character to up to heights that couldn’t be achieved normally. To rocket jump you have to jump and shoot at the ground at the same time. To reach even further heights you crouch and jump and shoot a rocket. To change direction you can move, jump and rocket or you can angle the rocket away from yourself to minimise damage. I’m sure you can find a YouTube video describing and showing you that is a million times better than text.

One quick tip, the Equaliser is probably the best melee weapon because you can get away faster when you’re health is lower but only when you pull it out.

About Midnight Games

I love playing and discussing games. View all posts by Midnight Games

Leave a Reply

