Crysis 2


Finally I have my hands on this game! I instantly fell in love with this game. It was a something different! After years of playing COD and after a few weeks playing around with Halo: Reach I needed something different and Crysis 2 is a breath of fresh air.

The campaign is great. The story line is complimented with amazing graphics. Light pours over scenery like water over rocks in a waterfall. The music is amazing, getting Hans Zimmer in on the job was a good choice. The campaign plays a little like a Call of Duty campaign but more complex because of the nanosuit capabilities. Campaigns and singleplayer modes in video games are becoming less and less important as players are more interested in multiplayer and pwning noobs but the singleplayer is a must in this game, even if you don’t care about the plot you must play it just to see how amazing the world looks. In some parts of the singleplayer it can be a little ‘stop and go’. A lot of the times you are required to sneak around cloaked and with the restrictions of the nanosuit it requires you to stop for a second to recharge. I don’t think this is a bad thing because it adds to the suspense in some parts of the game, will you be caught or can you make it to the elevator?

The singleplayer may look amazing but I think people are more interested in the multiplayer. It’s nothing like anyone has seen before and I  must say, I’m hooked. The multiplayer is so good, for me, it may have surpassed the best multiplayer I’ve ever played. Sure you can count on Call of Duty to make a decent, reliable multiplayer that will last but what have they done different since they started making Call of Duty games, they haven’t taken a risk. Halo can make a decent multiplayer too, with loads of different game types but none have created a game like this. It’s a challenge to get good scores in this game, it’s not one of those games where you party up with ten people and chat and play, you have to be concentrated or you will fail. It’s not like Homefront which is a noob friendly game. The multiplayer has introduced some great things that could be used in others, dog tags. The dog tags are a great way to eradicate camping. You must walk over their dead body and pick up their dog tag (callsign in Call of Duty) to start your killstreak or dog tag streak. I call it that but I don’t think it’s the official term.

You won’t see ridiculous K/D in this game. The tops of the leader board are scores usually something like, 20 – 4. A lot of people say that beginners will have trouble starting out but I’ve got to say, I’ve had a lot of early success with this game. I don’t think it’s because I’m amazing at games but because over the past couple of months when I was drooling over this game, I watched countless videos on YouTube about Crysis 2. Tips, how to’s, commentaries etc. When I was watching those videos it was clear that the key to success in this game is how you use your nanosuit. A lot of people say, “I rush a lot in Call of Duty so I use armour the most,” this person will not be very successful in this game because he isn’t using his nanosuit to it’s full potential. To be good at this game you must use all aspects of your nanosuit well. I’ll be posting a tips article on Crysis 2 multiplayer.

About Midnight Games

I love playing and discussing games. View all posts by Midnight Games

Leave a Reply

