Assassin’s Creed, what’s next?


I completed the first Assassin’s Creed in 5 days, playing a couple of hours a day. I was hooked. The game was like nothing I had ever played before. Even though the fighting was simple, really simple, I still loved the action. Every assassination I did satisfied me, even though I was ending someone’s life. I would run around the cities just killing random guards because I could. Even though the first Assassin’s Creed was fun, it was really repetitive. Assassinating 9 different enemies, the only variation was how you gathered information on your target, and even that could have been the same if you wanted it to be. The AI wasn’t great either. Travelling to cities by horse was a nightmare, every time you come across a person they would chase after you. I was so relieved when I realised that I didn’t have to make the trip to each city again. The guards would always say the same thing, again and again.

The second Assassin’s Creed was insanely better than the first. It had actual variation in it’s gameplay, not just assassinating 9 people in the same way, you actually had missions to complete and the double hidden blades only made things better. The AI was a little better but I found out that you could was up to a group of 4 soldiers and poison each one and none of them would suspect a thing. Some of the missions really pissed me off, the flying machine mission annoyed me a lot. Every time I failed (and I failed a lot) the guard would scream “LOOK AT THE FLYING DEMON!” or something along those lines. One mission actually made me stop playing the game for several months. The mission in the fair where you had to race against another guy. After several months I picked the game up again and realised that it wasn’t that hard in the first place. The story line was much more complex than the first. Even after I finished the game I was still so confused.

The next Assassin’s Creed, Brotherhood, isn’t a part of the trilogy and contained the same characters. This one improved on the AI on the first and added in cool new features to the fighting. When I was playing the game I was hoping that this wasn’t the official third game. The one thing that was really cool was the ability to call in other members of the Brotherhood, helping you on your missions. One of the best things about your assassin’s was that you trained them. You chose what missions they went on and with each mission they gain experience points, making them a better assassin.  It doesn’t add to the story very much, it felt a little like an extension to the second game.Maybe that was the plan but it didn’t feel like it was worth the same amount of money as the second. An online was introduced into Assassin’s Creed, it is so much fun. At first I wasn’t sure how they would pull it off but they did and it is extremely fun, especially when you play with a friend. Instead of rushing, like in FPS’, it’s more about being patient and blending into the crowd around you.

I am extremely excited for the third Assassin’s Creed. It should be the best one yet. I have read that it will be about the assassin’s trying to stop the world coming to it’s demise in 2012 and their race against time to find the temples “built by those who came before”. This sounds like the game will be set in the fictional present, so no traditional assassins. Some people might not like the sound of that but if it’s anything like the second, it should be awesome.

About Midnight Games

I love playing and discussing games. View all posts by Midnight Games

Leave a Reply

